General Information

Stallion Springs Police Department Service Fees:

Towed Vehicle Release $160   

Reports $20 per report, $25 if over 10 pages, free if emailed 

V.I.N. Verifications $10 per vehicle for non-residents, free to residents  

Property Release $20 flat rate   

Firearm Release $20 first gun, $5 each additional gun

Citation sign off $10 per vehicle for non-residents, free to residents

  1. The listed services are available Monday through Friday during normal business hours and by appointment only.
  2. You must call the Stallion Springs CSD at (661) 822-3268 to request an appointment.
  3. Appointments maybe canceled at any time due to limited police staffing.

Firearms Release Information:

If your firearm(s) were taken into custody by the Stallion Springs Police Department, you must wait for your case to be adjudicatedbefore your firearm can be released.  If your case has been adjudicated and you are not a convicted felon, you are not a registeredsex offender and you do not have an active restraining order against you, you must do the following to begin the process of having your firearm possibly released:   

  1. Visit the California Department of Justice (DOJ) website at http://oag.ca.gov/firearms/forms and click on the link that states, “Law Enforcement Gun Release Application (BOF 119)"
  2. Read the directions carefully and fill out the BOF119 form in its entirety.
  3. Send the completed form to DOJ per their requirements.
  4. Once the DOJ has issued you a “Determination Notice” you must fill out an SSPD "Request for Return of Property" form to make an appointment with our evidence technician.  These forms are located at the SSPD front desk, or may be downloaded below.  Turn in your completed "Request for Return of Property" form to our front desk staff during normal business hours. Our evidence technician will telephone you to make an appointment.
  5. A processing fee of $20 per firearm and $5 per each additional weapon will be collected from you at the time of release by the SSPD.  You may pay the fee by money order or cash only.  Checks will not be accepted.
  6. You must bring a valid California drivers license or California identification card with you at the time of release.
  7. Your DOJ “Determination Notice" is only valid for 30 days.
  8. If you do not provide your original DOJ “Determination Notice” to the SSPD, and follow the above directions within the 30 day period, you must start the process over again with DOJ.
  9. Any firearm that has been left unclaimed shall be disposed of by the SSPD after 180 days.

Property Release Information:

If your property was taken into custody by the Stallion Springs Police Department, you must wait for your case to be adjudicated before your property can be released.  If your case has been adjudicated, and you were not convicted, you must do the following to begin the process of having your property possibly released:

  1. You must fill out an SSPD "Request for Return of Property" form to make an appointment with our evidence technician.  These forms are located at the SSPD front desk, or may be downloaded below. Turn in your completed "Request for Return of Property" form to our front desk staff during normal business hours. Our evidence technician will telephone you to make an appointment.
  2. A flat rate processing fee of $20 will be collected from you at the time of release in the form of a money order or cash.  Checks will not be accepted.
  3. You must bring a valid California drivers license or identification card with you at the time of release.
  4. Any unclaimed property will be destroyed after 365 days.
Citizen rqst. for property.doc

Vehicle Release Information

  1. $160 fee
  2. Vehicle can be released to the registered or legal owner only
  3. You must provide a valid California driver’s license, valid copy of current registration and proof of insurance to receive a vehicle release tag
  4. If a 30 day hold has been placed on your vehicle, your vehicle is not releasable until 30 calendar days from the day it was impounded

 Reports Release Information:

  1. $20.00 per report
  2. $25.00 if over 10 pages
  3. Free if emailed
  4. Reports are released on case by case bases after review
  5. Reports are only releasable to victims or witnesses
  6. Emailed copies are free but will not include photographs
  7. Suspects and defendants can attain reports through the Kern County District Attorney’s office

V.I.N. Verification Information:

  1. $10 per vehicle for non-residents
  2. Free to residents
  3. Owner must provide proper DMV paperwork
  4. Vehicle must be brought to the Stallion Springs Police Station unless prior arrangements have been made directly with an officer.
  5. You may download a VIN Verification Form here.